CMA Certification

The CMA (Certified Management Accountant) is the advanced professional certification specifically designed to measure the accounting and financial management skills that drive business performance. Achieving the CMA credential demonstrates your mastery of financial planning, analysis, control, and decision support, as well as professional ethics. 

According to the 2011 IMA Annual Salary Survey, CMA's on average earn nearly $22,000 higher annual compensation. (more)

The exam is structured into two parts:


  • Planning, budgeting, and forecasting

  • Performance management

  • Cost management

  • Internal controls

  • Professional ethics


  • Financial statement analysis

  • Corporate finance

  • Decision analysis and risk management

  • Investment decisions

  • Professional ethics 

The exam parts can be taken in any order. Only one exam can be taken at a time. Candidates must register to take one exam part within the first 12 months of entering the program and must complete both exam parts within three years.  

For more information about this critical credential, visit





Ashland University will be offering a course covering the content of Part I of the CMA exam in the fall beginning on Thursday, September 4. Students in the MBA program can earn 3 credit hours. The will also be an option for continuing education. Participants who cannot come to campus will have the opportunity to dial in live via Webex. Price and registration details are to be determined. Call the MBA office at Ashland at 1-800-MBA-CLAS.